Have a Problem

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Membership and Fees

How do I become a member?

All full and part time employees, other than those excluded by the certification orders from the Saskatchewan Labour Relations Board, are automatically members of the local (URFA), the provincial (SAUT) and national (CAUT) associations.  Membership and payment of fees is mandatory and comprised of all those covered by a collective agreement between the University of Regina Faculty Association and any one of: the University of Regina; Campion College; the First Nations University; and Luther College.

How much are dues?

The amount of union dues you pay is based on your salary.  Dues are paid monthly at a rate of 1.25% of each member’s monthly salary, which includes all stipends and supplements.  

Union dues represent approximately 99% of URFA revenue. (Other revenue can be attributed to investments such as interest from savings accounts and term deposits.) Your dues are used for membership development, to pay legal fees, to employ staff, and for a host of other things that have your interests in mind.